Three title droughts have ended


The 2016-17 season is ending and some of the usual suspects are celebrating their title wins,Real Madrid is crowned as the new La Liga champion leaving FC Barcelona behind,Juventus won its sixth consecutive Serie A scudetto tougher than expected,Bayern Munich has won its fifth consecutive Bundesliga title leaving Red Bull Leipzig and Borussia Dortmund behind,while in the Premier League,Chelsea has won its sixth Premier League title after just two seasons.However it didn’t meant that the football season in Europe lacked of clubs which ended their long title droughts and returned to the top of their leagues after a long time.

1.Feyenoord Rotterdam

In the last 18 years the Dutch Eredivisie has been dominated by Ajax Amerstedam and PSV Eindhoven with AZ Alkamaar and FC Twente making surprise title runs and during that period Feyenoord Rotterdam was living in the shadows of their biggest rivals which even resulted both in a financial and result crisis for the red-whites from Rotterdam,the whole period of 2000s was truly a dark era where they only won two trophies (2002 UEFA Cup and the 2008 KNVB Cup),however in recent seasons with the club out of debt and the hiring of former player Giovanni van Bronckhorst has turned the fortunes of the red-whites,last season Feyenoord with van Bronckhorst on the bench finished 3rd,this year the ended their title drought which lasted for 18 years.In the first 11 matchdays Feyenoord collected 29 out of possible 33 points and during that period they won by a single goal the match against PSV and trounced 5-0 Roda Kerkrade,that was until the defeat in the city derby against Sparta Rotterdam,but by then it was clear that Feyenoord is a leading contender to win the Eredivisie,they made another run from late November to late February when they colleced 34 out of 36 points,the title race came between Ajax and Feyenoord which squared off in the Klassiker on the 2nd of April which Ajax won 2-1 at its home ground,it seemed that the title would go to Amersterdam,but PSV dealt a blow to Ajax on the 23rd of April at the Phillips Stadium where thanks to a goal by Jurgen Locadia,Ajax’s title dreams were shattered while Feyenoord besides another defeat in the city derby this time against Excelsior won deservely the Eredivisie title for the first time in 18 years and will play in the next season’s UEFA Champions League.

2.AS Monaco FC

The French Ligue had by far the most exciting title race in a long time and three clubs participated in the most exciting title race in years.First OGC Nice led the Ligue 1 table with PSG and AS Monaco until matchday 20 where they slipped into 3rd thanks to a huge number of draws and from that moment it was all between PSG and AS Monaco which was looking to win their first Ligue 1 title since 2000 when they triumphed the last time.The Parisians have never led in the Ligue 1 table this season were for much in the chase for the title which they won for the last four seasons,besides they were beaten by PSG in the Coupe de la Ligue final and the semifinal of the Coupe de France,the red-whites from the principality led the Ligue 1 table from mid-January and from that moment they hanged on and weekend after weekend they ratched victories and put the pressure on the Parisians.That changed on 30th of April when Nice played PSG at the Allianz Riviera which was a must win for the Parisians and instead became the night when they lost the title.The red-blacks won 3-1 and with that AS Monaco became the new Ligue 1 champions for the first time in 17 years.Leonardo Jardim’s men led by a young Kylian Mbappe who scored 15 goals and captured the attention of the biggest clubs in Europe together with Radamel Falcao which regained his form by scoring 21 goals,the red-whites celebrate their well deserved title win after years of disappointments and agony.

3.FC Spartak Moscow

The Russian Premier League in recent years was dominated by the likes of Lokomotiv Moscow,CSKA Moscow,Zenit St.Petersburg and Rubin Kazan,between them there was Spartak Moscow which dominated Russian football in the 1990s and the early 2000s.However after 2001 when they won their last title trophies were few while coaching changes have been plenty.Some of the names which coached the red-whites from Moscow included Murat Yakin,Brian Laudrup,Stanislav Cherchesov,Nevio Scala,Unai Emery and Valeri Karpin.but none of them brought the title back to the red-whites until the hiring of Massimo Carrera which spent playing as a defender for Juventus,Atalanta and Napoli during his career as player and before the red-whites hired him last summer he was the assistant coach of the Italian national team and Juventus.And then came this season for the red-whites which they finally clinched their 10th Russian Premier League title,the first since 2001.The red-whites led from matchday 4 and never looked back and the crucial victories came against the biggest rivals CSKA Moscow and Zenit which were in April and sealed the title for the red-whites

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s